

## List of Wine Regions: New Zealand

Designated as belonging to one of the Three Categories of Wine Region As set out in the WWTG Labelling  $\mathsf{Protocol}^1$ 

This notification is submitted in accordance with the WWTG Labelling Protocol Article 4.3(e):

"Each Party may provide the names of its wine regions categorised as belonging to one or more of the categories set out in the definition of "wine region", to the electronic depositary, which maintains and publishes such information on the WWTG website"

Definition of "wine region" in Article 1(g) of the WWTG Labelling Protocol:

"Wine region" means, within a single country: a state, province, territory or similar administrative or political subdivision; or a single delimited grape growing area; or a grape growing region or locality as defined in the exporting Party's laws, regulations, or requirements.

**Explanatory Note:** The following regions and geographical sub-units are used to label wine produced in New Zealand in accordance with the New Zealand Wine Act 2003 and the Wine Regulations 2021.

Name of Wine Region	Category of Wine Region			Further
	<i>state, province, territory or similar administrative or political subdivision</i>	<i>single delimited grape growing area</i>	grape growing region or locality	information
East Coast			Ø	
North Island			Ø	May be accompanied by the name of a geographical sub- unit, e.g.: Ohau, Pohangina Valley,

<sup>1</sup> PROTOCOL TO THE 2007 WORLD WINE TRADE GROUP AGREEMENT ON REQUIREMENTS FOR WINE LABELLING CONCERNING ALCOHOL TOLERANCE, VINTAGE, VARIETY, AND WINE REGIONS

		Taranaki, Manawatu, Horowhenua.
South Island		
Northland		May be accompanied by the name of a geographical sub- unit e.g.: Karikari Peninsula, Paewhenua island, Bay of Islands, Tutukaka Coast, Mangawhai, Whangarei.
Auckland		May be accompanied by the name of a geographical sub- unit e.g.: Ihumatao, Awhitu, Brookby, Great Barrier Island, Karaka, Ihumatao
Clevedon	☑	
Western Auckland (comprising Henderson, Huapai, Kumeu, Waimauku)i		i Each of these names Henderson, Huapai, Kumeu, or Waimauku may be used individually instead of "Western Auckland" where appropriate.
Matakana		
Waiheke Island		May be accompanied by the name of a geographical sub- unit.
Waikato		May be accompanied by the

NEW ZEALAND: WINE REGIONS NOTIFICATION TO THE WORLD WINE TRADE GROUP ELECTRONIC DEPOSITARY 7 March 2023

		name of a geographical sub- unit e.g.: Ohaupo.
Coromandel Peninsula or Coromandel		
Lake Taupo		
Te Kauwhata		
Bay of Plenty	Ø	May be accompanied by the name of a geographical sub- unit e.g.: Galatea.
Gisborne		May be accompanied by the name of a geographical sub- unit, e.g.: Waipaoa, Ormond, Ormond Valley, Central Valley, Patutahi, Patutahi Plateau, Riverpoint, Manutuke, Golden Slope
Hawkes Bay or Hawke's Bay	Z	May be accompanied by the name of a geographical sub- unit e.g.: Mohaka, Esk River, Te Awanga, Bridge Pa, Gimblett Road, Ohiti, Dartmoor Valley, Mangatahi Terraces, Crownthorpe Terraces, Havelock Hills, Tukituki Valley.
Central Hawkes Bay or Central Hawke's Bay	Ø	

Wairarapa		Ø	May be accompanied by the name of a geographical sub- unit e.g.: Masterton.
Gladstone		V	
Martinborough		V	
Wellington		Ø	May be accompanied by the name of a geographical sub- unit e.g. Te Horo, Kapiti, Kapiti Coast.
Marlborough			May be accompanied by the name of a geographical sub- unit e.g. Wairau or Wairau Valley, Awatere or Awatere Valley, Southern Valleys.
Nelson			May be accompanied by the name of a geographical sub- unit e.g.: Golden Bay; Motueka; Upper Moutere; Redwood Valley, Waimea Plains; Brightwater.
Canterbury		Ŋ	May be accompanied by the name of a geographical sub- unit e.g.: Akaroa, Banks Peninsula, West Melton.
North Canterbury			May be accompanied by the

			name of a geographical sub- unit e.g.: Weka Pass, Pyramid Valley, Cheviot Hills.
Waipara Valley or Waipara			May be accompanied by the name of a geographical sub- unit.
Waitaki Valley		$\checkmark$	
Central Otago			May be accompanied by the name of a geographical sub- unit e.g.: Gibbston, Queenstown, Wakatipu, Cromwell, Bannockburn, Bendigo, Tarras, Lowburn or Pisa, Wanaka, Alexandra, Roxburgh, Otago.
Bannockburn		Ø	